2013 Baltic Cup
  • Currently 0.00/10

2013 Baltic Cup

This weekend (28th-30th June 2013) important windsurf and kite surf events took place at Tallinn, Pirita: Formula Windsurfing European Cup, NeilPryde Baltic Cup and Cabrinha Baltic Cup. 3 race day, 7 countries, 92 participants, three different windsurfing class + Kite Races – with this power Pirita beach was lucky enough to experience the unprecedented atmosphere and all riders gather their needed points for world rankings.

From Techno 293 class stood out Mariam Sekhposyan (RUS 13). Although she did false start at the very first race, she detained the rest of the races with 1-st position and six point advantage in front of the 2-nd place owner. Estonian Keit Järve (EST 257) on the other hand had the worst ride pretty in the last race (the 7th position). However, good results from earlier days, secured her second place of the overall podium. Permanently did show the third results Latvian Ketija Birzule (LAT 151). As the last 3 races she didn`t do so weall, she had to cede the third place in the final results to Sergey Karavan (RUS 1199) from Russia.

In Raceboard class all three days were triumphed by Latvians. If the first prize owner Vita Matise (LAT 1) and her runner-up Ilona Grinberga (LAT 18) difference was close (only 3 points), then the second and the third places (Gunars Rozenbergs, LAT 14) were separated with 9-points.

Formula-class competitors were not cherished with the wind - the only 3 matches they got from the second day . Though, on the 3rd day they went hopefully to the start line, but after 20 minutes of wind expectations they had to return to the beach with no race and out of needed points. Thus, the aggregate of the competition remained the same ranking order as the day before the final results: I Martin Ervin (EST 202), II Brault Valentin (FRA 823), III John Kaju (24 GB). Martin Ervin (EST 202) comments: "On Saturday afternoon made races felt very good. Windsurfing on late hours – that was extreme and uplifting for all of us. Of course, not to mention that I had the pleasure to beat the current leader of world ranking, Valentin Brault (FRA 823) from France.” In Formula women calculation won the competition Betti Vainküla (EST 212) and the Formula Junior class trophy was handed over to young Estonian Karl-Erik Saarm(EST 228).